Nosferatu (1922)

aka Nosferatu, eine Symphonie des Grauens / Nosferatu: A Symphony of Horror

Nosferatu2007 #18
F.W. Murnau | 81 mins | DVD | PG

One of the earliest and most-referenced horror films, and the first screen adaptation of Bram Stoker’s Dracula (faithfully, albeit unofficially).

With such a weight bearing down upon it I found it quite hard to watch it objectively, and so was mainly left with the sense that I didn’t enjoy it as much as Sunrise and that I’d rather like to see a fully restored version. Perhaps Masters of Cinema shall treat us to one soon.*

Whatever one’s thoughts on it, it really is a must see for anyone into sci-fi/fantasy, horror, or (again) the history of film.

3 out of 5

* In the years since this review was written, they have. ^

2 thoughts on “Nosferatu (1922)

  1. Last Halloween I watched this film because I wanted to see for myself what it was all about. It was ok. Through the movie I just wanted to get to the end and when it was over I didn’t care for it much.

    Like

Leave a Reply

