Three Colours: Red (1994)

aka Trois couleurs: Rouge

2007 #42
Krzysztof Kieslowski | 95 mins | DVD | 15 / R

The final film in the trilogy takes on the theme of fraternité/brotherhood, in a relatively obvious way: Irene Jacob befriends a lonesome old man who spies on his neighbour’s telephone calls. There’s much more to it than that, all on broadly the same theme, but I’m sure to say too much would be to ruin what is an excellent film.

Best of all, in my mind, is the intriguing and oddly satisfying conclusion to the trilogy as a whole. I’m sure it’s not for everyone, but I still recommend it.

5 out of 5

Three Colours Red placed 8th on my list of The Ten Best Films I Saw For the First Time in 2007, which can be read in full here.

Leave a Reply

