May 2011

Ah, May.

In which I reach:


Two milestones

Much of watching 100 films is the long, sometimes slow, slog of getting through so many films. Oh I know some people watch far more than that in a year, especially if we started counting films seen before, but I think most would agree getting to such a number is a marathon rather than a sprint. If you watched one a day, it would still take over three months.

Assault on Precinct 13Sometimes, though, the slog (I say “slog” — obviously it’s good really!) is broken up by my arrival at key points. And this month, I reached not one but two milestones. Yay!

Firstly, I’ve passed the halfway point for 2011 — this year’s 50th film was the original Assault on Precinct 13. Hitting halfway on May 6th means I should, theoretically, reach 100 by September 9th (to be precise), and make it to 145 films by the end of the year. As ever, we’ll see how that pans out.

Secondly, an even bigger milestone: I’ve now reached 500 films in five years! And that 500th film was the remake of Assault on Precinct 13. Neat, eh? Now, I know: according to the title of this blog this milestone ‘should’ be at the end of this year, but overruns in 2007 and 2010 (tempered by 2009’s shortfall) are what make #55 the 500th never-before-seen feature film to arrive on this blog. So hurrah!


Not only, but also

They weren’t the only two films I watched this month, of course…

An Education#48 Funny Face (1957)
#49 Catfish (2010)
#50 Assault on Precinct 13 (1976)
#51 An Education (2009)
The King's Speech#52 (500) Days of Summer (2009)
#53 Salt: Director’s Cut (2010)
#54 The Princess and the Frog (2009)
#55 Assault on Precinct 13 (2005)
#56 Iron Man 2 (2010)
#57 The King’s Speech (2010)
#58 The Thief (1952)


Reviewtastic!

Things have been going well in the reviews department too. Though I’m still horribly backed up, I’ve finally posted all the reviews of films watched in January, making it the first month to get all its reviews up this year. Not exactly great news, but it’s something.

Plus, as I noted at the time, (500) Days of Summer is the 500th review of feature-length film to be posted on the blog (coming slightly earlier than the 500th review of a counted film thanks to the 25 uncounted features I’ve reviewed over the years).


Next time on the all-new 100 Films in a Year monthly update…

Halfway! Always exciting.

Apart from the moment when you wonder where half the year’s gone.

Leave a Reply

