August 2014

As summer comes to an end (hurrah!) it’s time to look back on what’s been my most productive month of the year (hurrah!)


What Do You Mean You Haven’t Seen…?

First up, this month’s WDYMYHS film is the list’s #1 contender, the points tally that got it here some 24% higher than that for second place. It’s Stanley Kubrick’s acclaimed film, adapted from Stephen King’s acclaimed novel, the “masterpiece of modern horror”, The Shining.

God it’s scary, isn’t it? But brilliant.

I’m two for four on Kubrick films I’ve enjoyed (though one of the ‘fails’ is 2001, which I last saw in full when I was rather young, so it deserves a third go — the second having been in my teens, when it sent me to sleep. (In fairness, it was about 3am.) But I digress…) I own most of the rest of the man’s oeuvre on disc (except Fear and Desire which, considering there’s a Masters of Cinema release, I ought to pick up) — so, as that’s only nine films, I should make more of an effort to watch them. (By now we all know how that’s likely to turn out, right?)


August’s films in full

American Movie#66 The Expendables 2 (2012)
#67 Clear and Present Danger (1994)
#67a Cloudy 2: Extra Toppings (2013)
#68 Inseparable (2011)
#69 After Earth (2013)
#70 Thor: The Dark World (2013)
#70a Marvel One-Shot: All Hail the King (2014)
#71 The Battle of the Somme (1916)
#72 The Forbidden Kingdom (2008)
The Kings of Summer#73 American Movie (1999)
#74 St. Trinian’s: The Legend of Fritton’s Gold (2007),
aka St. Trinian’s 2
#75 Local Hero (1983)
#76 The Kings of Summer (2013)
#77 Safe (2012)
#78 Wrath of the Titans (2012)
#79 The Man with the Iron Fists (2012)
#80 The Shining (1980)


Analysis

As I said at the start, August has been 2014’s best month so far: the list up there totals 15 new features, besting the previous high of 12 from March. It’s also well clear of the year-to-date average, which was 9.3 — indeed, August alone pulls that up to a round 10.

August’s closing position of #80 puts 2014 in a very nice position. It’s the highest I’ve been at this point since 2010 (when I’d made it to #89), and the only other year that went better was 2007 (when I was well into the 90s by now). It turns around a gradual slide over the last few years, from 77 in 2011, to 73 in 2012, to 71 in 2013. Those are all good results, though, because the target for August is #66.

In terms of using August’s numbers to predict December’s final tally… well, it’s a fool’s game. In 2009, for instance, August’s total suggested I’d watch just 22 films during the year’s final third; in fact, I watched 50. Conversely, in 2011 the numbers suggested 39 more films, but I only watched 23. Last year was closest: a prediction of 36 ended up with 39 films watched. The only observable pattern is: if the prediction is 36 or under, I’ll surpass it; if the prediction is 37 or over, I’ll watch less. This August offers a prediction of 40 more films (for a total of 120), so the unlikely-to-be-maintained rule suggests I’ll watch a non-specific number of films that’s less than that. Which, actually, I completely believe.

My average viewing for the September-to-December period is 35 films, so if I reach #115 by year’s end then I’ll be conforming to history in every respect.


This month’s archive reviews

My re-post project continues apace: despite missing a week due to time-consuming redecorating, I still re-posted 24 reviews from my old blog. Just 246 to go…


Next month on 100 Films in a Year…

I’ve twice reached #100 in September, but to do that this year it’ll be my best month ever. Let’s hope for something in the 90s then, eh.

Leave a Reply

