1999 Week

This week on 100 Films, I shall be partying like it’s 1999.

“Why?” Well, I’m glad you asked. It’s all thanks to a confounding confluence of coincidence, whereby I happened to watch three films from that momentous year back to back, then noticed I had two 100 Favourites posts very close together from that year coming up around this week, a week that ends with my birthday. And how do you celebrate a birthday? With a party. And how do you party? Like it’s 1999.

Then Prince died and now it feels kinda disrespectful.

RIP Prince

I could be worse.

Moving on…

On Monday, Tuesday, Thursday, Friday, and Saturday there’ll be reviews of films from 1999 I happen to have watched recently, including one of my Blindspot / WDYMYHS films; on Wednesday and Sunday, as usual, a pair of 100 Favourites from 1999; and, because it’s a Bank Holiday next Monday, the week will last 8 days, and end with my thoughts on the best films of 1999.

Now, imagine your picture going all wobbly and the soundtrack going tinkly (or, if you prefer, roll-back-and-mix with a “vworp vworp” noise) as we travel back 16 years…

Leave a Reply

