Beverly Hills Cop II (1987)

2016 #53
Tony Scott | 99 mins | streaming (HD) | 2.35:1 | USA / English | 15 / R

Wiseass Detroit cop Eddie Murphy heads back to the titular wealthy California city* to investigate when a burglary gang nearly kills his friend.

Top villain Jürgen Prochnow is so underused one wonders why he’s even in the film — Brigitte Nielsen’s more striking henchwoman could’ve been brains as well as brawn. Either way, they’re the character equivalent of a MacGuffin: this is all about Murphy, plus sidekicks Judge Reinhold and John Ashton, having fun and entertaining us in the process. Tony Scott brings ’80s slickness without losing sight of the comedy, for a sequel that’s almost as enjoyable as its predecessor.

4 out of 5

* Did you know Beverly Hills was its own city? I thought it was just an L.A. suburb. ^

2 thoughts on “Beverly Hills Cop II (1987)

  1. Oh boy, I havent seen this in so many years. I suspect this might be one of those films that, as we discussed re: Highlander, I didnt enjoy so much at the time but if I were to watch it again now, all that 80s stuff… I’d probably love it. And yes, Tony Scott was the master at this kind of movie, something of a genius at it really, this kind of slick mainstream entertainment. What a tragedy his death was.

    I was never a massive fan of his films (much preferred his brother Ridley’s stuff) but anyone can see what we movie fans lost. I’ll shut up now before my comment runs longer than your review…but yeah, I’ll have to try watch this again next time its on.

    Liked by 1 person

    • When Tony Scott was on form, he was great. When he wasn’t… well, I find everything I’ve seen by him at least entertaining, but I know that’s not always the prevailing opinion.

      BHC2 is every inch an “80s Tony Scott movie”, though, so, yeah, maybe the kind of thing that does play better with hindsight than it perhaps did at the time.

      Like

Leave a Reply

