My Top 5 Most-Read New Posts in 2016

…and why I think they made the cut.

5) Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice – Ultimate Edition
Reviews of alternate cuts always seem to do well for page hits, especially when they’re new releases.

4) The Last Dragonslayer
This had just been on TV, and in fact was repeated on the night I reviewed it; plus there were some retweets. Also, as a TV movie I’d guess it was less widely reviewed, so if you’re looking you’re more likely to find me.

3) Starman
Posted this when it was on Film4 and it got retweeted by their official Twitter account. Normally that’d be enough to get it #1, I think, but not this year.

2) The Rocky Horror Picture Show: Let’s Do the Time Warp Again
Again, it was on TV the night I reviewed it. And, again, a TV movie… though there were quite a lot of reviews when it aired in the US. Advantage of being in the UK, then, maybe.

1) The Witches of Eastwick
No idea.

5 thoughts on “My Top 5 Most-Read New Posts in 2016

    • It’s one of the more entertaining uses of Wikipedia’s stats, trying to guess why something is suddenly popular. After Harry Potter, my review of The Battle of the Somme is highest on my chart for 2016, which makes sense, but right behind it is Lady of Deceit/Born to Kill, which I’ve no explanation for.

      Like

Leave a Reply

