Seeking a Friend for the End of the World (2012)

2015 #118
Lorene Scafaria | 91 mins | TV | 2.35:1 | USA, Singapore, Malaysia & Indonesia / English | 15 / R

This melancholic apocalyptic comedy wasn’t too well received, which is a shame because I thought it was absolutely brilliant.

As an asteroid heads inevitably towards Earth, Steve Carell decides to go on a road trip to reconnect with his high school sweetheart. Neighbour Keira Knightley tags along. Quirky things happen; they bond; as the end of the world nears, they rethink their lives.

Carell gives a very good performance, trading in the kind of understatement that makes him a much more interesting actor than his stock-in-trade outrageous comedies continue to imply. I guess Knightley is playing a Manic Pixie Dream Girl, at least to an extent, but I thought she was a plausible character nonetheless. There are certainly more egregious examples of the trope. It’s another strong performance, anyway, containing a lot more truth than your average MPDG.

Also, there’s a really, really cute lickle doggie.

The thing both leads nail, as does writer-director Lorene Scafaria, and what made the film so good for me, is an overwhelming sense of melancholy. It’s a hard feeling for films to evoke, I think — more complex than happiness or sadness, or excitement, or even fear. It comes to a head in an ending that actually brought a tear to my eye, a rare enough feat that it cemented a five-star rating.

5 out of 5

Seeking a Friend for the End of the World placed 11th on my list of The 20 Best Films I Saw For the First Time in 2015, which can be read in full here.

This review is part of the 100 Films Advent Calendar 2015. Read more here.

8 thoughts on “Seeking a Friend for the End of the World (2012)

  1. ‘Brought a teat to my eye’? Really? What sort of film was this???

    Just kidding, this is one I’ve fancied seeing for some time without ever actually committing. Keira Knightley has carved out a bit of a niche for herself with this sort of thing – I liked her in BEGIN AGAIN very much – so your five stars might just tip me over.

    Like

    • I must’ve read this review I don’t know how many times, and I’ve never spotted that typo! I do apologise if I’ve falsely raised the hopes of anyone who may be into that kind of thing…

      I haven’t watched Begin Again yet but have been meaning to, so it’s good to hear you liked it. I imagine Knightley is still quite keen to take almost any role that doesn’t involve a corset!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.