Thor (2011)

2012 #37
Kenneth Branagh | 115 mins | Blu-ray | 2.35:1 | USA / English | 12 / PG-13

ThorDirector Kenneth Branagh brings all his Shakespearean know-how to one of the most innately successful of Marvel’s recent superhero movies. Perhaps lacking the mass appeal of Iron Man (specifically, of Downey Jr), Branagh spins a yarn of gods and mortals, humility and responsibility, without stinting on action or humour.

In the title role, Chris Hemsworth is an instant star; as his evil brother, Tom Hiddleston also seems to be commencing a considerable career. Too much building to The Avengers is its only major flaw. I had no interest in Thor before; now I’m desperate to read some of the comics.

4 out of 5

Marvel Avengers Assemble, aka Marvel’s The Avengers, comes to Sky Movies Premiere from Friday 15th February at 4pm.

In the interests of completing my backlog of 2012 reviews, I decided to post some ‘drabble reviews’ of the stuff I watched longest ago. In the future I may update with something longer, but if I don’t, at least there’s something here for posterity.

For those unfamiliar with the concept, a drabble is a complete piece of writing exactly 100 words long.

My reviews of the other Marvel Phase One movies can be found at the following links: Iron Man, The Incredible Hulk, Iron Man 2, and Captain America: The First Avenger; plus, the first two Marvel One-Shot shorts.

4 thoughts on “Thor (2011)

  1. I read the comics in the 1970s- a ‘reboot’ back then by Roy Thomas and John Buscema really played into the Norse mythology, and was pretty amazing as I remember. No idea how the strip carried on beyond that- thirty plus years ago so who knows? I have no idea if the film is similar to the current strip. But yeah, good film, strengthened by great casting, except for Port man who feels miscast band awkward.

    A friend of mine saw The Avengers having not seen Thor and missed most of the references.I’d say Thor was essential for any fan of The Avengers.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.