2017: The Full List

2017 — the 11th year I’ve been doing this 100 films challenge, and the fifth consecutive year I’ve surpassed that goal. Below is the full list of new films I watched this year, all linked up to reviews and that. (“And that” being my “coming soon” page for the dozens of films I’ve not actually reviewed yet.)

My “Full List” post is an annual tradition round these parts, of course, but this year it undergoes its biggest change of format since 2012, when I switched from listing my viewing in chronological (aka numerical) order to listing it alphabetically, and also added the “as it happened” section. This time, however, it’s an even bigger change — the biggest change to this annual tradition ever, in fact.

I’ve got rid of the statistics.

“What, completely?” No, of course not — as regular readers will know, they’re the best part of the year! (They’re my personal highlight, anyway.) Now they’ll be in their own post. Frankly, I don’t know why I haven’t separated them off sooner. Tradition, mainly. Anyway, I think they belong there. Expect that post tomorrow.

In the meantime, there’s also a new addition to this post: TV reviews. As this was the first full year I’ve run my “Past Month on TV” column, and as there’s an ever-growing consensus to consider television on an equal footing with cinema as a narrative visual art form, and as that’s a position which I broadly agree with, it felt only right that I included my TV reviewing in this big ol’ list of reviews.

So, time to crack on with things. As this post is just a long list of words and pictures, if you don’t fancy the scroll (or the swipe, if you’re on one of them newfangled touchy-screens) here are some handy links to jump to whichever bit might interest you:



Below is a graphical representation of my 2017 viewing, month by month. Each of the images links to the relevant monthly update, which contain a numbered list of everything I watched this year. This is also the only place where I’ve listed the 52 films of my Rewatchathon. There’s other exciting stuff in there too, like my monthly Arbie awards.












And now, the main event…


Alternate Cuts
Other Reviews
Shorts
Alien: Covenant

Babe: Pig in the City

Black Swan

Candyman

Death Note

Don't Breathe

The Driver

Get Out

Ghostbusters

Guardians of the Galaxy Vol.2

Hidden Figures

Jackie Brown

Kubo and the Two Strings

Logan

Moana

Moonlight

New Tale of Zatoichi

Robin Hood: Men in Tights

Rurouni Kenshin

Sing Street

Star Wars: The Last Jedi

That's Entertainment

Twin Peaks: Fire Walk with Me

War for the Planet of the Apes

Your Name

Mad Max: Fury Road - Black and Chrome

The Terminator

Hotel Chevalier

.

Across 16 ‘monthly’ columns I reviewed a significant amount of television this year, and so I thought I should include it in my wrap-up. But rather than just link to 16 posts each containing a grab-bag of programming, I thought it would be more useful to list every series I commented on and then link to the relevant post(s). That also shows up just how much TV I watch…


Tomorrow (hopefully): analysing all of the above in exciting statistics!

Soon: ranking all (well, some) of the above in my lists of the best and worst films I saw this year.

5 thoughts on “2017: The Full List

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.